Ravens Notebook: Finalists for year-end awards; Hall-of-Famers to be honored during AFC championship

OWINGS MILLS — Ravens quarterback Lamar Jackson, coach John Harbaugh and both coordinators — Todd Monken and Mike Macdonald — are finalists for the Associated Press’ annual awards for the 2023 NFL season.

Jackson is a finalist for MVP, along with quarterback Josh Allen (Buffalo Bills), running back Christian McCaffrey (San Francisco 49ers), quarterback Dak Prescott (Dallas Cowboys) and quarterback Brock Purdy (San Francisco 49ers).

Jackson is also a finalist for Offensive Player of the Year with wide receiver Tyreek Hill (Miami Dolphins), wide receiver CeeDee Lamb (Cowboys), McCaffrey and Prescott.

Jackson had his finest season as a pro, throwing for a career-high 3,678 yards with 24 touchdowns and seven interceptions, finishing with the NFL’s fourth-best rating (102.7). He added 821 yards rushing with five scores, becoming the only quarterback in NFL history with multiple seasons to reach the 3,000/800 milestone.

Harbaugh is in the running for Coach of the Year along with Dan Campbell (Detroit Lions), DeMeco Ryans (Houston Texans), Kyle Shanahan (San Francisco 49ers) and Kevin Stefanski (Cleveland Browns).

Harbaugh guided the Ravens to a 13-4 record and the top seed in the AFC.

Both Ravens coordinators — Monken (offense) and Macdonald (defense) — are finalists for Assistant Coach of the Year with Ben Johnson (Detroit Lions offensive coordinator), Jim Schwartz (Cleveland Browns defensive coordinator), and Bobby Slowik (Houston Texans offensive coordinator).

Under Monken, the Ravens led the NFL with 156.5 yards rushing per game and were fourth in points scored averaging 28.4.

Macdonald led a defense that was the first unit in NFL history to finish a season ranked No. 1 in points allowed (16.5 points per game), sacks (60), and takeaways (31, tied with the New York Giants)

The winners will be announced on Thursday, February 8th at the Resorts World Theatre in Las Vegas, which is hosting the Super Bowl.

Homecoming for Hall-of-Famers

All three former Ravens in the Hall of Fame will be honored during the AFC Championship Game against the Kansas City Chiefs on Sunday at 3 p.m. at M&T Bank Stadium.

Ray Lewis and Ed Reed are the “Legends of the Game” and will be introduced on the field just before kickoff. Lewis was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2018, and Reed was enshrined the following year.

Jonathan Ogden, an 11-time Pro Bowler and the Ravens’ first draft choice in 1996, will serve as the honorary captain. Ogden was the first Raven to be inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2013.

In addition, the team will recognize former players Anquan Boldin, Todd Heap, Dennis Pitta, Terrell Suggs, and Matt Stover at various points throughout the game.

Zeitler, Wallace back at practice

Ravens right guard Kevin Zeitler (rest) and wide receiver/returner Tylan Wallace (knee) returned to practice Thursday after missing the previous day. Zeitler missed the final two games of the regular season with a knee injury. Wallace is a key special teams player and was inactive for last week’s playoff game against the Texans.

Trending Stories

Get daily coverage of the Ravens and Orioles from Peter Schmuck, Rich Dubroff and Todd Karpovich — from the press box to your inbox. 100% free. Unsubscribe at any time.



BaltimoreSports.com is not affiliated in any way with Major League Baseball, the National Football League, the Baltimore Orioles or the Baltimore Ravens. USA Today Sports Digital Properties Partner.

To Top